Skip to Main Content


Distinguished University Professor (as of September, 2014)

Presidential Teaching Professor, 2013–2016

Read citation.

Elkins Professorship

I was awarded an Elkins Professorship for the academic year 2007-2008. My award has been used to foster interest and learning in mathematics among K-12 students and the general public.

Guggenheim Fellowship Recipient, 2004 (Fiction)

More Info.

Awards for Novels

I have won several prizes for my novels. These may be found on my author website.